Clive Faust

Picture of Author

Shearsman Titles

Buy from this Author Button

About the author

Clive Faust was born in Melbourne in 1932. He attended the University of Melbourne, and some of his early poems were published in Melbourne University Magazine and one in Southerly. In the later 1960s Faust lived in Kyoto, Japan. There he met the American expatriate poet and editor Cid Corman (1924–2004), with whom he had a longstanding friendship and correspondence. On his returning to Australia in the early 1970s Faust taught at the Bendigo College of Advanced Education. From the early 1970s he began contributing poems to Australian literary journals including Meanjin and Kris Hemensley’s The Ear in a Wheatfield. Several of his poems appeared in John Tranter’s 1979 anthology The New Australian Poetry. He has also published his poetry in international poetry magazines including Corman’s Origin, Tangent and Shearsman.
Faust's first collection, Token or Trace, was published in 1980. He has since published four further collections, including Cold’s Determination (1996), a volume of selected poems. Influenced by American poets like Corman, George Oppen (1908–1984), and Louis Zukofsky (1904–1978), Faust has argued against the localism of Australian poetry, and his publishing also reflects an internationalist outlook; several of his poetry collections were published in the USA or Japan through Cid Corman’s Origin Press, and none were first published in Australia. Shearsman published his Collected Poems, Past Futures in 2017, continuing the tradition of publishing the author outside his native country.

(based on a biography at the Australian Poetry Library)

Return to Books by Author