Robert Saxton

Picture of Author Robert Saxton
Photo courtesy of the author.

Shearsman Titles

Buy from this Author Button

About the author

obert Saxton ­is the author of three poetry collections: The Promise Clinic (Enitharmon 1994), Manganese (Carcanet / OxfordPoets 2003) and Local Honey (Carcanet / OxfordPoets 2007). He is also represented in Faber's Poetry Introduction 7 and Carcanet's Oxford Poets 2001 anthology. In 2001 he won the Keats-Shelley Memorial Association's poetry prize for 'The Nightingale Broadcasts'. He has won commendations in recent years in the National Poetry Competition, the Poetry London Competition and the Troubadour Poetry Competition.

His fourth book of poetry, Hesiod's Calendar, published by Carcanet / OxfordPoets in 2010, renders the heart of Hesiod's Theogony and the whole of his Works and Days into two sonnet sequences, comprising 80 sonnets in total.

Robert Saxton was born in Nottingham 1952 and educated at the Henry Mellish Grammar School, Bulwell, Nottingham, and Magdalen College, Oxford, where he read English. He lives in Highgate, north London, and is currently the editorial director of an illustrated-book publishing company.

Return to Books by Author