Kelvin Corcoran - New & Selected Poems


Kelvin Corcoran - New & Selected Poems

Paperback, 196pp, 8.5x5.5ins

Download a PDF sampler from this book here.

Kelvin Corcoran's first book, Robin Hood in the Dark Ages, appeared in 1985 and he has published eight subsequent collections with a range of British small presses. This volume presents a complete new collection, Against Purity, together with a previously unpublished shorter sequence, My Life With Byron, plus selections from each of his previous nine volumes of poetry, to give an overview of the work of one of the finest British poets of his generation.


"Kelvin Corcoran's recent work inhabits the imagination as a distinct sphere of abundance, drawn from reality as a celebration of the true scope of the mind. And the instrument of this is a written eloquence which takes in the past of poetry and of the spirit as a freshly lived condition which the self occupies at its most impassioned and sincere. Since the early 1990s Corcoran has built the world of this poetry from the most unlikely seeming materials for a modernist poet, by adopting Greece with its history and mythology as his focus and ultimate home. …It is not a separate issue, like a travelogue, but a great expansion of resource for a spirit still unmistakably inhabiting the here and now, an escape only from negativity." (Peter Riley, PN Review)

"Kelvin Corcoran has been publishing books of poetry since the mid-1980s. His style has slowly evolved over the years, opening out from youthful asperities to something gentler and more hopeful. Now Shearsman has published his New and Selected Poems and it proves a stirring read." (Charles Bainbridge, The Guardian)


Order from

Order from The Book Depository

Order from wordery (UK)

Order from

Order from Barnes and (USA)

Related Books